Music and Arts Offerings 2019—2020

Salon Concert

Saturday, September 28, 7:30 p.m. in the parish hall
Ron Erler, oboe with Bert Landman, harpsichord/piano

Evensong Celebration of New Ministry

Sunday, October 6, 5:00 p.m. in the church
Featuring Dyson in F and John Ireland’s “Greater love” with the Redeemer Choir
Reception following

Evensong for All Saints’

Sunday, November 3, 5:00 p.m. in the church
Maurice Duruflé’s Requiem with the Redeemer Choir
Lite Fare Reception following

Washington Cornett and Sackbutt Ensemble

Sunday, November 24, 5:00 p.m. in the church
Employing cornetts (curved hybrid brass/woodwind instruments) and sackbutts (early trombones), this program explores early brass repertoire from Italy, Germany, England, Spain, and the Franco-Flemish region. Since 1998, WCSE has shared their unique, mellifluous, and historically informed sound in programs across the continent.

Evensong for Advent

Sunday, December 1, 5:00 p.m. in the chapel
With Evensong Schola featuring Brahms’ ‘O Heiland reiss die Himmel auf’

VOCES8 Holiday Concert

Friday, December 6, 7:30 p.m. in the church
World-renowned a cappella group singing a wide-ranging concert of holiday music.
Note: this is a ticketed event. Click here to purchase tickets
General Admission: $30 Students: $25 with valid ID
VOCES8 is represented by Opus 3 Artists

 

Candlelight Service of Lessons and Carols

Sunday, December 15, 5:00 p.m. in the church
With the Redeemer Choir, The Choir School of Baltimore and instruments

Christmas Eve service

Tuesday, December 24, 9:00 p.m. in the church
Choral Prelude at 8:30 p.m. 

Choral Prelude: Featuring Haydn’s St. Nicholas Mass with The Redeemer Choir and orchestra

Additional Christmas Eve Services:
11:00 a.m. with Connections Choir
4:00 p.m. with Children’s Pageant, The Choir School of Baltimore, and the Redeemer Choir

Evensong for the Feast of the Presentation

Sunday, February 2, 5:00 p.m. in the chapel
Eccard’s “When to the temple Mary went” with the Redeemer Choir and the Choir of St. Bartholomew’s, Baltimore

Jazz Mass

Sunday, February 23, 10:00 a.m. in the church
Redeemer’s popular Mardi Gras Sunday with guest jazz musicians, the Helping Up Mission Choir, and the Redeemer Choirs

Evensong for Lent

Sunday, March 1, 5:00 p.m. in the chapel
With the Redeemer Choir and the combined adult choirs of St. Margaret’s Church, Annapolis

Organ Recital

Friday, March 20, 7:30 p.m. in the church
Dr. Jason Roberts
Dr. Roberts, a winner of the AGO National Competition in Organ Improvisation, and a finalist at the competitions in St. Albans and Haarlem, will present a program on the beautiful nave organ of  The Church of the Redeemer. He currently serves as Music Director at the Church of the Blessed Sacrament in New York City. His program will include works by major composers as well as improvisation.

Meditations on the Passion for Palm Sunday

Sunday, April 5, 5:00 p.m. in the chapel
Readings of the Passion narrative according to Matthew with Passiontide anthems and motets sung by the Redeemer Choir

Easter Day

Sunday, April 12, 9:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m. in the church
Festival Eucharists with The Choir School of Baltimore, the Redeemer Choir, organ, brass and timpani

RSCMA Choir Festival Evensong

Sunday, May 3, 5:00 p.m. in the church
Guest director Jack Warren Burnam, and Royal School of Church Music in America choirs from the Maryland area.
Reception following

Salon Concert

Saturday, May 16, 7:30 p.m. in the parish hall
Rebecca Lange-Thernes, flute, Elisabeth Green, harp and Bert Landman, harpsichord/piano

Compline Series

Prayer at the Close of Day sung in the chapel at 8:00 p.m. by the Compline Schola. The chapel doors open at 7:45 p.m.

Sunday, September 15, 2019
Sunday, October 20, 2019
Sunday, November 17, 2019
Sunday, January 19, 2020
Sunday, February 16, 2020
Sunday, March 15, 2020
Sunday, April 19, 2020
Sunday, May 17, 2020

Advent/Christmas Art Show

December 1, 2019 —January 6, 2020
Share your Nativity scenes with the Redeemer Community

Easter Art Show

April 12, 2020 —May 31, 2020
Share your Art works reflecting new life with the Redeemer Community

Artists Reception
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
5:00 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

RYG Musical

Friday, March 6, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 7, 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 8, 12:30 p.m.

Common Ground Concerts

Robin Bullock & Sue Richards
American Masters of Traditional Celtic Music
Friday, October 4, 2019 at 7:30 p.m.

John McCutcheon
Folk Music’s “Rustic Renaissance Man”
Friday, November 1, 2019 at 7:30 p.m.

Sparky & Rhonda Rucker
Americana Stories & Song
Friday, February 7, 2020 at 7:30 p.m.

The Kruger Brothers
An Extraordinary Fusion of Classical & Bluegrass
Friday, March 13, 2020 at 7:30 p.m.

TBA
Friday, April 3, 2020 at 7:30 p.m.

Peabody Early Music Concerts in the chapel

Friday, November 1, 2019 at 7:30 p.m.
Friday, November 15, 2019 at 7:30 p.m.
Friday, March 27, 2020 at 7:30 p.m.
Friday, May 8, 2020 at 7:30 p.m.

Period instruments and chamber choir
Freewill Offerings support local charities

Bridge Ensemble Christmas Concert

Monday, December 2, 2019 at 7:30 p.m. in the chapel
Reflect in quiet stillness upon the forthcoming holiday season, and enjoy in the Bridge Ensemble’s sumptuous singing in an intimate candle-lit space. This program will feature music for the Advent season by William Byrd, Thomas Tallis, Toivo Tulev, Adrian Peacock, Melissa Dunphy, Eriks Esenvalds, and Caleb Burhans.

Bach in Baltimore

Sunday, September 15, 2019 at 4:00 p.m.
Beyond Bach
Mozart’s ‘Jupiter’ Symphony #41, K 551, Beethoven’s Egmont Overture, Op. 84, and Handel’s Water Music Suite #2, HWV 349 

Sunday, October 27, 2019 at 4:00 p.m.
Beyond Bach
Mozart’s Symphony #40, K 550, and Beethoven’s Symphony #2, Op. 36

Sunday, January 5, 2020 at 4:00 p.m.
Winter Nights
Featuring Bach’s Christmas Oratorio Part V: Ehre sei dir, Gott, gesungen,
Bach’s Cantata 153: Schau, lieber Gott, wie meine Feind, and Albinoni’s Oboe Concerto Opus 9, No. 2

Sunday, June 7, 2020 at 4:00 p.m.
Summer Sunset
An afternoon with Baroque masters Bach, Handel, Vivaldi, and Zelenka in a delightful summer picnic of instrumental works featuring flutes, oboes, bassoons, strings, and two harpsichords.

Baltimore Folk Music Assembly

Saturday, October 19, 2019 at 12:00 noon
Saturday, February 1, 2020 at 12:00 noon