Music and Arts Offerings 2018—2019

Festive Evensong Celebrating the 60th Anniversary of the "new church"

Sunday, October 7, 5:00 p.m.
With the Redeemer Choirs, Reception following

 

Movie Night

Friday, October 19, 7:00 p.m.
Silent film with improvised organ accompaniment by Jason Roberts, Organist, St. Bartholowmew’s Church, New York.  Popcorn and drinks provided

 

Evensong for All Saints’

Sunday, November 4, 5:00 p.m.
Malcolm Archer’s Requiem & Murrill’s Evening Service in E with the Redeemer choir.
Lite Fare Reception following.

Evensong for Advent

Sunday, December 2, 5:00 p.m. in the chapel

Featuring Hugo Distler’s ‘A Little Advent Music’ with Evensong Schola and instruments

 

Candlelight Service of Lessons and Carols

Sunday, December 16, 5:00 p.m.
With the Redeemer Choir and the St. Cecelia and St. Nicholas Choirs and instruments

Christmas Eve service

Monday, December 24, 9:00 p.m.
Choral Prelude at 8:30 p.m. 

Choral Prelude: Charpentier’s, ‘Messe de Minuit pour Noel’  The Redeemer Choir with orchestra

Additional Christmas Eve Services:
11:00 a.m. with Connections Choir
4:00 p.m. with Pageant and the St. Cecelia, St. Nicholas, and Redeemer Choirs

Evensong for Epiphany

Sunday, January 6, 5:00 p.m.
The choir of Epiphany Church, Timonium and the Redeemer Choir

Evensong for the Feast of the Presentation

Sunday, February 3, 5:00 p.m. in the chapel
Batten Evening Service in a minor, Eccard’s “When to the temple Mary went” with Evensong Schola

Jazz Mass

Sunday, March 3, 10:00 a.m.
Redeemer’s popular Mardi Gras Sunday with guest jazz musicians, the Helping Up Mission Choir, and the Redeemer Choirs

Evensong for Lent

Sunday, April 7, 5:00 p.m. in the chapel
Antoine Guilain Magnificat with Men’s Evensong Schola

Meditations on the Passion for Palm Sunday

Sunday, April 14, 5:00 p.m. in the chapel
Readings of the Passion narrative according to Luke with Passiontide anthems and motets sung by the Redeemer Choir

Easter Day

Sunday, April 21, 9:00 a.m. & 11:00 a.m.

Festival Eucharists with the Choir School of Baltimore, the Redeemer Choir, organ, brass and timpani

 

RSCMA Choir Festival Evensong

Sunday, May 5 at 5:00 p.m.

With guest conductor Garmon Ashby, FRSCM and Royal School of Church Music in America choirs from the Maryland area. Reception following.

Joe Ricker & Jamie Balmer, Classical Guitartists

Saturday, May 11, 7:30 p.m. 

A Grand Tour: classical guitar duets of four centuriesSelections by Francesco Da Milano, Domenico Scarlatti, Franz Josef Haydn, Francois de Fossa, Maurice Ravel, Isaac Albeniz, Enrique Granados, Manuel de Falla,  and Danza del Molinero

The Bridge Ensemble

Sunday, May 19, 4:00 p.m.

A choral program of music about community and human interaction with works by William Byrd, Claude LeJeune, and Clement Janequin, as well as regional premieres of works by Jenny Olivia Johnson and Allan Laino. The Bridge Ensemble is a professional chamber vocal ensemble dedicated to performing music from the Middle Ages and renaissance as well as contemporary works that respond to the world around us.

Compline Series

Prayer at the Close of Day sung in the chapel at 8:00 p.m. by the Compline Schola. The chapel doors open at 7:45 p.m.

Sunday, September 16, 2018
Sunday, October 21, 2018
Sunday, November 18, 2018
Sunday, January 20, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Sunday, March 17, 2019
Sunday, May 19, 2019

Advent/Christmas Art Show

December 2, 2018 —January 6, 2019
Share your Nativity scenes with the Redeemer Community

Easter Art Show

April 21, 2019 —June 9, 2019

Share your Art works reflecting new life with the Redeemer Community

RYG Musical

Friday, February 22, 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, February 23, 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, February 24, 12:30 p.m.

Common Ground Concerts

Bryan Bowers Band
Singer/songwriter/storyteller Bryan Bowers teams up with Danny Knicely and Geoff Goodhue, to create American folk and mountain music at its finest.
Friday, October 5, 2018 at 7:30 p.m.

Jennifer Cutting’s Ocean Orchestra
OCEAN Orchestra is the one of the East Coast’s
premiere Celtic fusion bands.
Friday, November 2, 2018 at 7:30 p.m.

Walt Michael & Co.
Annual Holiday Concert
Join hammered dulcimer virtuoso/multi-instrumentalist Walt and friends as they celebrate the season with Southern Appalachian, Celtic, bluegrass,
and original tunes.
Friday, December 7, 2018 at 7:30 p.m.

Fink, Marxer, Gleaves
GRAMMY Award winners Cathy Fink and Marcy Marxer join Sam Gleaves sharing music they love from Appalachia as well as contemporary songs that keep alive the tradition of singing for and about social justice.
Friday, February 1, 2019 at 7:30 p.m.

Tom Paxton & the Don Juans
GRAMMY Lifetime Achievement Award winner and folk icon Tom Paxton teams up with singer-songwriter duo, the Don Juans (Don Henry and Jon Vezner).
Friday, March 1, 2019 at 7:30 p.m.

Harvey Reid & Joyce Andersen
Reid’s legendary acoustic and slide guitar work make a perfect backdrop for Andersen’s powerful fiddling, as they take turns on lead and harmony vocals to showcase a large and interesting repertoire of original,
traditional and contemporary music.
Friday, April 5, 2019 at 7:30 p.m.

Peabody Early Music Concerts in the chapel

Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, December 8, 2018 at 7:30 p.m.
Friday, March 15, 2019 at 7:30 p.m.
Friday, April 26, 2019 at 7:30 p.m.

Period instruments and chamber choir
Freewill Offerings support local charities

Bach in Baltimore

Sunday, March 3, 2019 at 4:00 p.m.
A Celebration of the Psalms                                      Featuring psalm settings by Gabrieli and Dvořák, Leonard Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms, and
works for double brass ensemble

Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 4:00 p.m.
A Celebration of Venice                                                  Featuring Vivaldi’s Four Seasons and
Concerto for Cello in b minor, and
Johann Roman’s Concerto for Oboe d’Amore

Handel Choir

Sunday, March 10, 2019 at 4:00 p.m.
Sunday, April 28, 2019 at 4:00 p.m.

Baltimore Folk Music Assembly

Saturday, October 20, 2018 at 12:00 noon
Saturday, January 12, 2019 at 12:00 noon